We recently introduced a new permission level, Workspace Owner, to the mix. So, if you’re the creator or the first admin of a workspace, you now are a Workspace Owner, a very important person in your Teamweek universe.
It’s a GDPR thing, making sure each set of data is owned by a single user, but for our users it also solved a complicated problem.
A while ago we noticed that our users were accidentally deleting either their own accounts or entire workspaces in bulk. The main problem was caused by the lost data – and then manually setting it all up again. There were some occasions where the only admin of a workspace had decided to delete the account, and the whole team was left in the dark, without an admin.
And even when we tried to fix the problem by adding confirmation messages, it persisted.
Workspace Owner is first and foremost the owner of the data a workspace holds. Like a super admin, who in addition to having access to billing is the only one who can delete a workspace, and therefore also need to pass on their ownership before they can delete their own user account. This will help in decreasing the number of unfortunate accidents and make sure each workspace always has an admin.
If you are the right person for the job, then nothing. But, if you feel like there should be someone else in charge of your workspace then you can transfer power to another user.